Associate Faculty (CNS),
Adjunct faculty, IITH

Office: Room D 204
Phone: +91 80 2293 2556
E-mail: agr@iisc.ac.in
Home page

Current Research areas

Neural signal processing
Deep Neural Networks for speech recognition and document super-resolution
Machine learning in images, audio and handwriting
Machine Listening
Landmark detection in speech

Educational History


  • Ph.D. IIT, Madras 1989
  • M Tech IIT, Madras 1982
  • B. E.(Hons) Univ. of Madras 1980

Courses offered in the last five years


  • E2 212 Matrix Theory
  • E9 261 Speech Information Procesing
  • E9 201 Digital Signal Processing
  • E9 241 Digital Image Processing E1 215 Biometrics
  • E9 306: Machine Learning in Neuroscience

Awards / Honours / Affiliation 

  • Alumni Award for Excellence in Research for Engineering, IISc Council, 2023.
  • Adjunct Faculty, Dept. of HST, IIT Hyderabad
  • Advisor-Neuroscience, Feedfront Technologies Pvt. Ltd.
  • Associate Editor of Frontiers in Neuroscience and Frontiers in Neurology – section Brain imaging methods.
  • Fellow, Indian National Academy of Engineering, 2019
  • Invited Member of Senate, IIIT Allahabad, Prayagraj, Feb 2019 -.
  • Member of Karnataka Knowledge Commission, 2017-2020
  • Jaya-Jayant Award for Teaching Excellence in Engineering by IISc Council, 2016
  • Manthan Award (South Asia and Asia Pacific) – e-education category, 2015
  • Manthan Award (South Asia & Asia Pacific): e-inclusion and accessibility, 2014
  • Prof. M. Anandakrishnan Award by International Forum for Information Technology for Tamil at Tamil Internet 2013
  • Vice President, Indian Unit for Pattern Recognition and Artificial Intelligence.
  • President, Biomedical Engineering Society of India, 2001 – 2008.
  • Young Investigator Grant by Dept of Science & Technology – Govt of India, 1994
  • Sir Andrew Watt Kay Young Researcher’s Prize from Royal College of Physicians & Surgeons, Glasgow, 1992
  • Thangam Vasudevan Award, Indian Association of Biomedical Scientists, 1986
  • Associate Editor, Sadhana.
  • Member, Governing Council, Siddaganga Institute of Technology, Tumakuru.
  • Member, Board of Studies, International School of Information Management (ISiM), University of Mysore.
  • Member, Board of Studies, Dept. of Biomedical Engineering, MIT Manipal.
  • Senior Member, IEEE EMBS and Signal Processing Societies
  • Fellow, Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers (IETE)
  • Fellow, Institution of Engineers (India)
  • General Council, International Forum for Information Technology in Tamil (INFITT)
  • Member, Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), ISCA and ASA